June fav0rites

Hellu, 

When I posted my May favorites, it was my first one like that and I was excited to be on trend with what’s popular and be able to customize it to obviously MY favorites- but I still wasn’t sure if it was something I wanted to keep doing. I really enjoyed it, but I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to keep up with it each month and having a post “series” kind of scared me as a fairly new blogger. I received some awesome feedback from my followers and knowing you all want to see these each month really inspired me to keep it going. So thank you and here’s what I’ve been loving recently: 


Where we live! This meaning our new apartment and our new city. Living in the capitol of the state seemed a bit daunting to me at first, but the part of it that we’re settled into is very nice and not super busy. There’s so much here that we’ve already visited and enjoyed a lot, but it’s such a vast area that we’ve been discovering new things and places even now. My boyfriend has been incredible at making me feel comfortable and at home and eased the stresses of moving by being such a solid point in my life. He’s amazing and I’m always gonna be grateful for everything he does for us (: 


Going along with where we live, I’m enjoying the food so much too (and the sweet little kitties that hang around our apartment complex)! The top picture is what we had for dinner a few nights ago and it has some backstory: my mom has only ever made lasagna homemade so I’d only ever had it like that. My boyfriend’s mom made a microwave lasagna from Stauffer’s and I hated it, so I was SUPER skeptical getting this Udi’s one. Their other gluten-free stuff is really good, but it’s a microwave lasagna… let me just tell you all so you can experience the goodness, it was delicious! I was so pleasantly surprised and happy to be having one of my favorite dishes gluten-free. We also went out to Mellow Mushroom the other night and got their gluten-free pizza with spinach and green peppers. I love the crust because it’s so sweet it almost tastes like a graham cracker. Under the kitty pic is a little collage of our pit stop at Carytown Cupcakes on the way home that night. They have the nicest set up in their bakery, so I had to snap a few photos (this is what I want our place to look like- love the style and decor). We picked up a few gluten-free strawberry cupcakes and headed home. Here’s what they looked like: 


They had the most amazing icing, but unfortunately had chunks of real strawberries in the cake part (which I know some people LOVE, but I don’t like chunks in most things or fillings really of any kind). So I let my boyfriend have the other half of mine that I didn’t want to finish. Still, I’m glad they had some options and I’m sure we’ll go back and try the others (: 


Sorta transitioning out of food favorites, I just bought this kitchen apron ^ from World Market (where I used to work) and I’m absolutely in love with it! I can’t wait to get back from vacation so I can cook and bake in it. I haven’t had my own since I was super little and had a mini one that I painted myself. Also these slipper booties have been a dream in this apartment. We have cold floors in the kitchen and bathroom and these feel way better on my feet than socks + they’re way easier to slip on and off when I’m in the bedroom or on the couch! 


Next up are some beauty related favorites! I bought this new nail color at work (CVS) the other day and painted my nails with it while we waited for our laundry to finish. Sally Hansen and OPI are my go to brands for nail polish because they aren’t too expensive and they last the longest. The picture above is after about 4 days of wear and working long shifts too. The duo of color and top coat hold it so well and it’s just a lovely shade for summer. Gotta love pink everything… 


Speaking of which, check out my favorite beauty tool. It’s a *pink* detangle comb and man, do I need it. My hair is super long and hella thick, so my best friends are leave in conditioner spray and this comb. After fighting through my knotted hair with my giant paddle brush, I spray it down and work at it with this comb and it does wonders. It’s by Goody, so it’s cheap and can be found anywhere and it does the job! I think I’m also gonna get back into this hairstyle ^ more cause I used to wear it like this a lot and I’ve been in a bit of a hair rut lately. What do you think? 


Staying with the pink trend, I finally got my custom LifeProof case! I really love how it came out, but after using the back clip-on case I got temporarily while waiting for this one to come in the mail… I’m not sure I want to use it anymore. The site I bought it from doesn’t accept returns, so I’m thinking about selling it. Would any of you be interested? *fits an iPhone 7 


Surprise! Netflix is a favorite of mine. It might sound strange to some of you, but I had never used it before til we moved in. My boyfriend and I agreed we didn’t want cable, so this was something we wanted to try out. My favorite thing to do while waiting for him to come home on days he works later than me has been watching random superhero movies on Netflix. I’ve recently watched Hellboy, Catwoman, and started the newest Avengers (haven’t finished it). Our favorite tv show to watch is actually the Netflix original Riverdale. It’s *loosely* based off the Archie comics (which I read the crap out of when I was younger, would always get one in line at the grocery store with mama), but it has some mystery tied in that has us both hooked. It’s super interesting- if you haven’t seen it, I’d highly recommend starting. 


A few random ones to wrap this favorites post up: the folding stool I just got ^ it’s been SO nice to actually sit in front of my mirror to get ready instead of being on my feet all the time. The new dresser drawer knobs I picked up (buy one, get one free) from World Market because one of my old ones lost a screw and we couldn’t find it anywhere. These were gorgeous and a great deal, so I couldn’t pass it up! Lastly, yoga and stretching have been a favorite of mine for a long time now, but I’m still trying to do them more often and it’s so nice to have a personal mat for my own space to practice and spread out. Babe has one too and it’s so wonderful when we can get up together and do some poses in the morning before breakfast (: 

So that about does it for June. It flew by of course with our moving and all the work we’ve been doing, but we’re off on vacation this whole week. I’m not sure if I’ll be posting at all, but definitely expect a TON of pictures when we get back cause I’ve never been where we’re going and well- I love taking pictures. 

Please feel free to let me know what you think of my list and comment some stuff you’ve been loving this past month or even right now! I’m always down for suggestions and thanks again for reading xoxo 

35 thoughts on “June fav0rites

  1. Those cupcakes look amazing! I always love when bakeries have cute rustic sit-in environments, the one I used to go to in uni was amazing, I need to find one here at home! I hadn’t realized how much I missed them.

    You have a very lovely blog btw, just followed and looking forward to more posts! πŸ™‚
    xx Jan
    janhern.com

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This was such a fun favorites post to read!! I loved it πŸ˜„πŸ’• So happy you’re enjoying living in the new apartment! I live very close to my state’s capital, and the traffic there is hectic, so I’m glad that we don’t always have to go through that traffic, haha!! Those knobs that you bought are gorgeous! 😍 and the neighborhood cat you shared a picture of looks so sweet! β˜ΊοΈπŸ’–

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks very much for your comment! I’m so glad you liked the read (: I actually picked out some slabs-of-geode looking knobs before I saw those, but knew the white ones would be PERFECT haha yes, we have about 15-20 minute drives to our jobs so it’s really great. It’s nice to see the stray kitties around cause I miss my cats back home a lot

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome!! ❀ ooh those sound pretty, too! But the white ones definitely go perfectly 😊 that's great! Aww I miss my kitty, too – she passed away in 2011. Cats are such a blessing πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I spy a Sheetz card! I feel like anyone who doesn’t have a Sheetz where they live is missing out. πŸ˜› Although I admit that their prices on some things are definitely too high.

    I’m not a big fan of chunks in certain things either, but those cupcakes look really delicious. I wish I could eat one right now!

    I used to love Netflix, but I feel like it has been a waste of money for me lately. I spend $10 a month on it, and I only watch maybe one thing per month. I’ve been spending a lot of my spare time at home watching the ID channel because I’m obsessed with crime shows, so I just haven’t been using it much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha yes! I mean, it’s a gas station still so the prices are pretty bad but I know what you mean. The icing on the cupcakes was still very yummy, so I enjoyed them somewhat (: my dad actually uses his parents (my grandparents) Netflix account and he’s letting us piggyback off it too! It’s nice to have it, but I miss just turning on the tv and watching something random or flipping channels- but I can’t complain if it’s free πŸ˜‰

      Like

    1. YAS πŸ™‹πŸ» lasagna is king haha and thank you! You should totally try it though- it takes me a few times to get it right, but it’s a lovely way to keep hair out of your face πŸ‘πŸΌ

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the iPhone case. Only if it was for the 7 plus.

    I cancelled my Netflix months ago since nothing was really appealing me. I do plan on getting it back in September when Fuller House S3 premiers since I’m obsessed. LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

