Ancestry results in!

Hellu,

You might’ve seen me mention that Justin and I managed to snag a deal around St. Patrick’s Day for buy one, get one half off AncestryDNA kits. Here’s a little rundown of our experience:

We received our starter kits relatively quick, and they were so cool ^ basically you fill up a tube with your spit and seal it up to send back to them! Everything is provided in the kit with step by step directions and a way to log everything to your account online. Their estimated time for us to get our results back after their testing was done would be 6-8 weeks (although it could be longer due to volume). We packaged them up and sent them out the next day!

In reality, it only took a few days over a month for my results to come in ^ Justin’s took a few more days (even though we sent our kits back together). No surprise in the big numbers- ya girl is Sicilian! Then there’s the smaller part of Scottish and the even smaller bits of Eastern Europe. The true breakdown I had to type out because it wouldn’t all fit in my screen for a screenshot…

The one thing that DID surprise me out of all the tiny percentages was those two 4% parts of the world ^ they’re both Middle Eastern, so that’s a total of 8% of me that I had no idea about! Justin sometimes jokes with me that I look like an Arabian princess, and now I can’t even tell him he’s wrong haha but it was really cool to find out something like that (:

If you’re interested in doing one of these tests, but think it costs too much- I urge you to keep an eye out for any promotions they run or ask for a starter kit as a gift. It’s a super fun experience that’ll educate you (they have more in depth stories online, like how/when your ancestors moved around the world), and might surprise you!

*Justin’s results aren’t mine to share, but he wants you all to know he’s Russian (:

42 thoughts on “Ancestry results in!

  1. Wow… This is so cool Arabian Princess…;) 😉 🙂 😀

    I would definitely love to try something like this… Let me see if there is something similar in India…

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’d love to know where I’m coming from but I don’t feel like sending my DNA to random organisations 😀 It’s a fun experience though, I might change my mind at some point!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have been meaning to do this for AGES. I have so many people on both sides of my family tell me so many things, I’m so intrigued to find out what I am! It’s just so cool actually knowing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ooh this is so cool, Shannon! I’ve always wanted to trace back and learn more about my ancestry, and this would be such a fun way to do it! I’m totally going to check this out for myself now, haha 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome! I hope you get your results back as quickly as we did (and that you can snag a Memorial Day weekend sale or some kind of deal) haha good luck to you and thanks for commenting (:

      Liked by 1 person

  5. this is so cool i think it is so important to stay in touch with your roots and i always like to think of the colorful stories my ancestors probably have to tell.

    ALSO ON ANOTHER NOTE SIS YOUR EYEBROWS ARE PERFECT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment